Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

“For every action, there will be a reaction.” This is a principle that was proposed by Newton and that explains the resulting effects of forces in daily objects. This can be extended to other areas of knowledge, especially scientific research areas. The prompt suggests that the government should limit the restrictions on scientific research to a minimum, to grow and flourish scientific discoveries. In my opinion, I mostly disagree with the statement and the reasons are as follows.

To begin, researchers are “lazy” in the sense that if there is an easier way to achieve certain results, he will opt for the easy route instead of the complex route. And that is reasonable, alas, it is expected. In order to progress, researcher need to surpass certain conundrums, and as they build the background to understand the problems, they are able to advance faster and give larger strides. For instance, if a pharmaceutical biochemist could test the company’s drugs directly in humans to determine the effectiveness of the drug, he would certainly do so because there is a lot of money involved in pharmaceutical segment. He wouldn’t waste his time testing the drugs in lab rats, he would just apply the chemicals into a human body and see what would happen. In other words, having restrictions in the way science is conducted is very important to guarantee ethics among researchers.

Further, when there are fewer restrictions, researchers will automatically do more trial and error tests to reach their goal instead of studying a way to achieve an elegant solution. What I mean by this is that having ethical barriers that limit what a researcher can and can’t do directly implies in the way that he conducts research. A researcher in Brazil, a chemical engineer, had spread the news that he had finally discovered a cure for cancer and that he had concocted a pill that would cure the cancer disease forever. The problem is that he was doing his research in his backyard lab, with no regulations nor governmental inspection. He was immediately expelled from the university where he worked and government officials shut down his illegal lab. In the media, he was recognized as the lonely wolf that roamed the earth alone against all odds. The problem is that no one knows what he did, what his tests where and whom did he test these drugs.

Of course, there are downsides to so many regulations upon research. It is obviously slower than it would be if there weren’t so many limitations. A great example of this is the medical advances in WW2. German physicians learned a lot from experimenting with wounded soldiers and war prisoners. Many were killed in the process, but the Germans were interested in the what they were gaining instead of what they were losing. By the end of the war, governments and humans rights decided that there must be a limit to what research can and can not do. This is a fuzzy realm of research that is still very much questioned, for today the craze is artificial networks and that someday robots will be able to think just as we do.

In conclusion, research must be circumscribed by ethics and there must be specific ethical boundaries in which researchers can not surpass. Although results will take more time to mature, we guarantee that in the future there will be no Frankensteins roaming the earth.