Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Research and development has been a major part of every comapanies be it automobile, manufacturing, energy develoment, electronics in the world. The prompt suggests that this department like any other department of a company, must have restrictions. I mostly disagree with the prompt and provide two reasons for why this boundry may affect the result of research. However, I concede that there are a few conditions where these activities must not be left completely free.

First of all, scientific research are always capricious. To pressurize in finding a particular result is utterly absurd. If a particular outcome is expected, then there is no point in conducting the research. The aim of a research project is to discover new findings that is obscure till now, or that is the further growth of the knowledge known at present. For example, if Wright Brothers were given a limited resource, and if they were deprived from further study after first attempt was unsuccessful, we would never have these large flying bodies in our sky that has made out travel easy and fast. Thus restriction is a malevolent action that doesnot do good in the process determined to bring new development.

Secondly, restriction bridles research activities. New discoveries require patience and must be meticulous in every aspect possible. This means a lot of time as well as effort must be given. For instance, astronomical findings require decades of study and observation. During this period, there is a significant utilization of manpower, economical resource, as well as infrastructure. Setting a specific period and cost to these activities can produce no results; or outcomes found, can be considerably flawed. These circumscribed environment hinders the persuasiveness of the outcome as well as sap enthusiasm of the people involved.

However, there will be certain cases where the credibilty of the research activity must be evaluated forehand, for a better result. If an automobile industry begins new research in hope of replacing rubber tyres with metal ones; it is almost an impossible and pollyannaish result at current time given the comapany has very less precendent knowledge in tyres and there were no previous research in the field by the people involved in this new project. This is simlply a waste of time and other valuable asset of company which could be used in some other result oriented activities.

In conclusion, given the expectation of the research and development activities as well as available status of information and resource the project must be selceted so that, working in the task during course of time does not pressurize the team in getting the output. If the freedom cannot be given, then it is almost good not to initiate the research.