Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

The author concludes that the franchise of Plainsville will be sucessful as well as profitable. He comes to this conlcusion base on other franchise of the chain-company, report of local merchant, number of local health club members and prediction that the school children are future customers. The author's assertion might be true, but the following three claims must be substantiated in order to evaluate the credibility of the argument.

First of all, the author assumes that the report of the local merchant is immaculate. It is possible that their obervation are only surfacial. The demand of running shoes and exercise clothing are high because they are used by people in daily activities besides exercise because they are more comfortable than normal clothing. Perhaps these clothing are relatively cheap and are common among people for giving as a gift. If any of these scenarios have merit, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the author assumes that local health clubs, weight training and aerobic classes which are now full is a correct indication of number of members of precedent period too. It might be possible that the current time is a vacation period of college and universities that increased the free time of the people and decided to join the health clubs. Once the educational institutions open people go back to their routine behaviour in which these actvities does not have space. If this is true, then the persuasiveness of the conclusion of the argument is hindered.

Finally, the author assumes that the school children are potential future costumers. These children may have taken fitness program due to pressure from their parents and will leave it once they reach an age where they can simply talk to parents about not taking such programs. Also, due to more potential custumers another company selling health food and products might establish in Plainsville that distributes the customers as well as the profit. If this is the case, then the argument does not hold water.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to provide evidence to these explanations (perhaps by a systematic study approach), then the viability of the argument can fully be determined.