The human mind will always be superior to machines because machines are only tools of human minds.

Being superior may involve many features. But should the machines ever have any superiority, they need to be independent. On many levels machines are dependent on humans to operate.

First, machines need humans to create them. Robots are creations of human being and independently they cannot make something like their own type. Although we also rely so much on the machines and without them the life would be so hard for us, but we can reproduce without involvement of them. All the machines which build other machines, are preprogrammed by humans to do so.

Furthermore, machines need human to provide them energy. Still, it is the human who feeds the machines by refueling them with gasoline, electricity, mechanical charge and so on. Running the gamut from cranking up the car toys to charging supercomputers, it is the human being who gives enough energy to these machines to work properly. In this sense, some may say that there are some machines converting light into energy and they can be self-sufficient, but still there is another thing denying their independence: They need to be fixed.

Thirdly, machines cannot maintain themselves, our bodies can. Despite the attempts of scientists, still a machine that can operate significantly independent, does not exist yet. The field of science which is especially active in making self-operating robots is the space sciences. In that field scientists are dealing with the machines which are supposed to work in locations beyond the reach of humans for a long time. The main problem here is their maintenance. Being inspired by the wounds of human bodies, scientists are trying to allocate some fluids underneath the exposing cover of the space robots to make any fissure closed at the impact of any item. NASA scientist put forward such a bionic project to make the robots not demanding maintenance. But even this is still a theory and machines need human “care”.

Last but not the least, the machines need someone to think instead of them. Speaking of thinking, the artificial intelligence conjures to mind. There were tries to enable the robots to have some brain activity at the level that a snail’s brain does have. Yet the “artificial intelligence” is not able to make a computer brain functioning like the most primitive brains. Hence, the dumbest human still has privileges over the machines that we should not be worried about machine sovereignty over us.

In short, as discussed, machines are not independent in reproduction, energy, and maintenance. Furthermore, machines cannot still think. Therefore, machines remain as the human tools since there is a long way for machines to become independent let alone having any superiority.