If a goal is worthy, then any means taken to attain it are justifiable.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Currently, it is debatable whether any means to achieve a goal is justifiable, if the goal is worthy. Some people held a view that taking any measures to achieve a significant achievement is unjustifiable since it sometimes threatens lives of people. However, it agree with the view since in most of cases, taking any means are necessary to fight against unjust rules.

Admittedly, in a handful of cases, allowing any means to obtain a goal is not justifiable since it endangers lives of people. For example, after the WWII, Germany was mired in economic difficulties to repay the war debts. Since many German people were faced with poverty and societal ills, Hitler and his government wanted to revitalize the country’s past glory by disseminating the idea of nationalism and ethnic cleansing to German people. Consequently, people started to blame their difficulties to the Jewish, minority people and homosexuals and executed them for the goal of obtaining past glory. In this case, the lives of innocent people were indiscriminately sacrificed to achieve a goal, which was worthy only for the Nazi groups. Therefore, in some cases, taking any measures to attain a goal is not cogent.

However, the assertion is persuasive, especially when it is for the purpose of obtaining justice for the people. When the Jim Crow laws were prevalent in the United States, many African American people were suffered from injustice treatment from White people. For instance, they were not allow using same water fountains, and should have separate seats in the bus. To fight against this injustice law, Martin Luther King, Jr. initiated the civil disobedience movement, and many people in the America and people from all around the world supported it. Although the civil rights movement was considered as a violation the war during the time, if King and his followers did not decided to go against the law, the abolition of racial discrimination would have delayed and African American people would have continue to experience the injustice. Therefore, if the goal is for the achievement of justice, any means should be taken.

In conclusion, although in some cases, adhering to the argument is not logical since it endangers people’s lives, it is necessary in cases of attaining the justice in the society. Therefore, people should go the extra mile to see whether it's for the betterment of the society or not.