If rituals did not exist, we would have to invent them. We need ceremonies and rituals to help us define ourselves socially and culturally.

Rituals have been known to exist since the very beginning of our mankind. It has passed on to us by our ancestors and we have followed them religiously without questioning their credibility for years. From the beginning of life when an individual is born till the end of life we follow some definite rituals that have been known to us. Also different religions, castes, sects and ethnic groups have a definite set of rituals and ceremonies which are to be followed. The author claims that we would have to invent rituals and ceremonies if they didn’t exist and also, they help us define ourselves culturally and socially. However, I strongly disagree with the both the claims of the author.

Firstly, we live in a modern world where people are becoming more open and broad minded. The world today is equipped with development of science and technology. In this modern world people will definitely find it futile to invent rituals if they had not existing since the beginning. They feel that these rituals won’t serve for any beneficial purposes to the society. Moreover, people these days have started feeling that the rituals and ceremonies that have existed since the very beginning as meaningless but still have to follow them as they are passed to them by their ancestors and also, due to the fear of the society.

Secondly, as people are getting more educated and literate they feel that these rituals and ceremonies are not beneficial at all as they waste a considerable amount of time and money. Consider the case of marriages in India where people sacrifice their lifetime savings in order to spend extravagantly on marriages as a part of their rituals and ceremonies. Such huge spending in the order to follow the rituals makes them pointless as they do not serve to be beneficial in any way. Rather, people these days are preferring court marriages where they can get married in a day thus saving a significant amount of money and time.

Thirdly, there are other areas which we need to focus on for ensuring our social and cultural identity. Rituals and ceremonies are not the factors that help us to define ourselves culturally and socially. There are various other factors which help us to define ourselves socially and culturally. Social beliefs, ideologies, language, folk music, art and dance, literature etc. help us to define our socially and culturally. However, in this competitive world we need to look ourselves above our social and cultural backgrounds. We rather need ourselves to get educated and make ourselves compatible to this modern world. In this way a country can achieve its development and become a major superpower across the whole world. Look at the country of United States where people from different castes, ethnicities, races, religions and even people from different countries reside. But, its citizens rather than ensuring their social and cultural identity felt themselves to ensure their economic and social status in order to survive and thus, ensuring overall development of the country.

In sum, I would like to conclude by stating that rituals are not at all essential in the modern world which has achieved a huge progress above the social and cultural identity. People in today’s world won’t find it essential to invent rituals if they did not exist and also, rituals and ceremonies are not the only factors for our social and cultural identity.