The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

The business manager of the television station makes two claims. First, to attract more viewers, the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The manager supports this claim by stating that most of the viewer’s complaints were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. Second, to avoid losing further revenues from advertising the station should again restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The manager supports this claims by stating that local businesses used to advertise during their late-night news program. Close scrutiny of these claims make them somewhat unsubstantial.

First, to attract more viewers, the manager claims that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news on the basis of the fact that most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with station’s coverage of weather and local news. However, it could be that the complaints received from the viewers on the station’s coverage of weather and local news were concerned with the quality of the news rather than the time devoted on coverage. Or, maybe it could have been that the weather updates presented on television station were inaccurate and also the weather forecasts were often found to be wrongly predicted. Also, it could have been that the local news presented on the news program were found to be too much sensational that made the viewers uninterested in watching them. Or, it could have been that the local news presented on the television were found to be less interesting to the viewers. Any of the above could have been the reason for the loss of viewership of the television station. Additionally, it could also have been that the quality of the national news was not at par with the expectations of the viewers that resulted in a decrease in viewership of the television station.

Second, to avoid further losing revenues from advertising the station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level on the basis of the fact that local businesses which used to advertise during their late-night news program canceled their advertising contracts with them. However, there could have been many other reasons for cancellation of the advertising contracts. Maybe, it could have been that the local businesses were facing shortage of funds and in order to reduce their expenditures, they decided to curtail the costs involved in those expensive television advertisements. Also, it could have been that the local business had established a huge market for their products and no longer felt necessary to advertise their products on television. Or, it could have been that the television station eventually decreased the time allocated for advertisements on their late-night news program in order to present more national news due to which local businesses found it meaningless to renew their advertising contracts with them.

All these claims rest on a certain number of doubtful assumptions. First, the complaints of viewers received were concerned with the time allocated for the station’s coverage of weather and local news. Second, local businesses preferred local news programs instead of national news programs to advertise their products. Third, by simply restoring the time of weather and local news coverage to its former level, the viewers of television will increase.

In sum, the claims made by the business manager are relying on doubtful assumptions that make them unconvincing. To bolster these claims the manager must verify whether less time allocated to weather and local news coverage is the only reason for the loss of viewership of the television station and cancellation of advertising contracts by local businesses. Proper verification will provide a strong hold on the claims made by the manager.