It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with thestatement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supportingy

Belief is assuming something as true irrespective of empirical evidence. It helps a person to take decisions without dilemmas. This is a constant topic of debate among people from all walks of life. In my opinion, it is better to stick to one's own beliefs. However, if belief system of a person is corrupted than it is better to give up and adopt righteous beliefs. I would like to explore this in the following essay.

First and foremost, belief system of a person helps in the course of action without any quandary. If a person compromises his belief system then he may face confusion in taking decisions. There are chances that he will not be able to take cogent decisions. This may lead to frustrations in life, as person may remain perplexed in mundane actions because his whole assumptions regarding things have been compromised.

Besides this, if a person compromises his belief for some small term gain then he may not remain satisfied in life. Also his integrity will get affected in long term. For example, a person is very honest but in light of certain financial issues at home he takes bribe. This act will ruin his integrity and peace of life. He will not remain happy as his belief system has been shattered. Moreover, people who used to admire him because of his integrity will not look at him with sense of respect.

Last but not the least, however, a person should give up his belief system which is immoral or corrupt. This will not only have negative impacts on him but also on the society. I would like to explain this with the help of an example. The emperor Ashoka gave up in the Kalinga war as it was only leading to destruction of the society. He adopted more scrupulous belief system of Buddhism. Thus, not only Ashoka found his inner peace but also the society reaped the fruits of peace and satisfaction.

To conclude, in most cases, belief system should not be compromised as it impairs the decision of a person and affects the integrity. Yet, in cases where beliefs are immoral then there is no gain in adhering to them.