It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man ot woman as a hero.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to whixh you agree ot disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Observed through the lens of a microscope, character is scrutinized by society. this forms a judgemental scope in defining what a hero really is. such critique of character makes it impossible for living heroes to exist, is what this statement is essentially saying. while I do agree that additional information allows for more in-depth analysis of character, some of which may be unfavorable, heroes are not necessarily unflawed beings.

First, society is a function of individual beliefs manifested. As such, individual values create a basis for social role models e.g. a swimming athlete may idolize michael phelps for his athletic ability. individual values are not universal throughout society e.g. another individual may be in avid rejection of recreational marijuana use and view michael phelps as a menace.

Dirty laundry airs freely through tabloids and social media. The term "fake news" was coined in the U.S. 2016 presidential election to denote meaning to misinformation on mass scale. A growing number of ways to communicate over the years including television broadcasts, internet access and fairly easy travel allows opportunity for miscommunication. For this reason, attributing qualities to the character of a hero may require more research than done in the past.

Investing time in learning about the qualities of a hero allow individuals to choose what values are important to them. Just as society is built up of differing values, heroes are multidimentional beings. A 2015 study found that lawyers are umoung the top earners in the United States, a characteristic many people idolize. The same study found that 75% of lawyers struggle with cocaine addiction, a problem that most people hope to avoid. Choice heroes are those whose redeeming qualities reflect personal goals. A person does not need to agree with a hero figure 100% of the time, rather an educated person should be able to identify qualities which bring inspiration and draw from those.

In conclusion, society is a function of individuals that patterns behaviors after those we see. Having heroes is inevitable. An increased accessibility to information allows deeper scrutiny of a heroes character which also unearths their flaws. Not all heroes are unscrupulous and therefore, while it may be more difficult than in the past, heroes still exist within society today.