Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Factual evidence is needed to establish truth and allows a person to set up logical biases. Without the existance of facts, communication would be untrustworthy because there would be no merit to the information shared. The author holds that all facts should be deemed fictitious based on the assumption that the future may hold an altered truth.

I strongly disagree with the claim because facts are proven sources of information and therefore, the definition itself deems them truthful and trustworthy. While I do see the weight of the author's reasoning, as misinformation runs rabid, creating a blanket statement to cover all information shared under the guise of "fact" is not applicable. Fact is rooted in truth which is defined by means of time, discovery and applicability.

The first reason why I believe facts must be treated as truth is because time changes fact. Something may be true today that isn't true tomorrow. For example, if you tune into the weather channel and learn that a hurricane is on its way, it would behoove you to listen to what facts are available. Perhaps the meteorologist instructs you to prepare for a direct hit. Since weather is always changing, this warning could become obsolete. however, in that moment, the threat is real. time changes situations, not facts.

Second, facts can be changed when new discoveries are made. As a society, there are many facts that we have learned over time. The scientific method is one way that people are given the opportunity to discover facts on their own. By creating a question and finding a method to answer the question, inquirers are able to produce factual evidence by generating repeatable outcomes. Take, for example, pasteurization. Louis pasture found that heating his solutions and covering them right away inhibited bacterial growth. Today, most of our dairy products are warmed to high temperatures to kill bacteria before we bring them into our houses. did people still drink milk before pasteurization? Yes however, after learning about the risks.

Third, being able to apply and investigate facts allows people to do their own research into what they believe to be real. For example, before the 13th century, a majority of the world believed our world to be flat. When Galileo proposed a theory stating that the world was round, people did not believe him at the time. Hundreds of years have passed, but we now take for granted this fact. Discoveries can change our perception of the world by allowing us more knowledge to deduce truth from.

In conclusion, facts do not change, but time, science and new discoveries. while some may believe that facts should be taken with a grain of salt, it is important to remember what constitutes a fact and instead be wary of where the information came from