We learn our most valuable lessons in life from struggling with our limitations rather than from enjoying our successes.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Success brings satisfaction which is magnified proportionally by the struggles people are able to overcome. Overcoming adversity gives a person the skillset they need to attain repeatable successes. This statement attributes lessons with the highest value to those we learn through adversity. I mostly agree with this statement because difficult situations often construct character. Successful vision is one quality of a person's character. Valuable lessons can also be learned through the enjoyment of success however, universal values are strongly correlated to overcoming struggles with personal limitations. Development of character takes all life lessons into account and the most influential moments are those that impact development the most which, in turn bring success.

First, character is born out of struggle. people are constantly evolving to maintain their place in society. For example, there was a period in time in which only few elite were granted access to education. knowledge was accessible through religious institutions where sacred leaders interpreted ancient texts. By the turn of the 19th century, an emphasis had been placed on personal growth. people wanted to read for themselves and were encouraged in religious texts. this thirst for knowledge overflowed into other aspects of society, including art and science, and soon became known as the Renaissance. Willing members of society questioned the unknown and remained vigilant to innovation, bringing the modern world into fruition from Medieval times.

Second, a high level of impact leaves lasting results. people do not remember all details of a situation, they remember how they felt at a particular time. Events that leave an impression are likely to cause people to act accordingly in future circumstances. one instance of this occurs in schools across America in reaction to increase incidences of school shootings. An attempted bombing and mass shooting at Columbine high school shook the nation and set the 21st century up with a new set of problems to deal with. Sandy Hook Elementary school experienced a similar scenario less than two years later. this was a problem that wouldn't go away. Confrontation by the idea of children and faculty members dying caused educators to seek amendments. In addition to bomb drills, students across the country now prepare for active shooter situations. also, campaigns focused on mental health awareness, anti-bullying and gun-control have begun as a result of people making strides to struggle with their own limitations and control over uncontrollable situations.

some may argue that enjoying success can yield valuable life lessons. After all, accepting a status of success acknowledges that the status was once unsuccessful and infers that a person has undergone some sort of metamorphosis. For example, people work their way up the economic food chain. Hard work is required by all people at some point in their life in order to earn something. Workplace success is often recognized in contrast to tedious, hard-work. The building blocks of success are the lessons that encourage future realization and so, by enjoying the fruits of one's labors, a person is able to effectively give credit to all conditions, harsh and forgiving, which have led said person to this moment of satisfaction

In conclusion, while satisfaction is often the most celebrated part of an experience, it is through grit cultivating lessons that a lasting ethic to pursue future success is developed. lessons which people learn independently and through impact are likely to create permanent change in the way a person acts and reacts to varying scenarios. Repeatable success is based in learned behaviors, therefore victory should be celebrated however, credit and value should be attributed to the process.