College students should be encouraged to pursue subjects that interest them rather than the courses that seem most likely to lead to jobs.

Explorers and inventors are necessary for continued global development. Surely economic trends mirror the interests of the masses or powerful within society. When choosing an educational path, students self interest awarness and fiscal responsibility are two factors that play into program selection. this statement suggests that people should prioritize learning topics of self-interest to that of economic benefit while pursuing higher education. I mostly agree with this statement due to historical relevance which demonstrates that explorers and inventors tend to express interest in specific topics. historical characters have paved the way through passion however, financial obligation is an undeniable element of daily life. The cost of higher education, while justifiable, is a definable factor in a students' journey in academia and therefore, must be considered when choosing a field of study.

First, our forefathers who brought us through evolutionary phases of social development used their passions to drive human migration and innovations. For example, original movement out out Western Africa was based on a human need for changes in environment. Whether chasing food or running from threat, these homo sapiens were the first explorers. modern humans have an innate sense of curiosity which allows action upon imagination and leads to progressive development. one instance of modern invention is the exponential evolution of cellular technology. At the turn of the 18th century, the quickest way to send a message was through direct contact through material means. what a surprise when, in their lifetime, Alexander Graham bell utilized wires to transmit a message remotely. innovations are created by those passionate enough to question the status quo. I truly wonder if Mr. bell would have been able to imagine the processes current trailblazers like Steve jobs are able to make with the advanced knowledge inventors have access to now. development is possible because people with genuine interest pursue their passions.

Second, economic growth is encouraged by development within society. this is evident in virtually every industry as jobs are created as new fields are developed. economic success can be measured by employment rates within society. The Great Depression is one historical instance in which this principle is evident. A sudden crash in the stock market following an economic boom during the roaring 20's echoed throughout society in the united states. Limited resources stunted economic growth and sent citizens into a poverty driven panic. this state of life continued until military spending shot up during World war II. Almost instantaneously, the economy turned around. Over 70,000 jobs were created through military enlistments and even more were developed through secondary means, like weapon production. The united states continues to spend more than it's global counterparts on the military-industrial complex and in keeping stakes alive in war zones, keeps jobs available through the development of controversy. while I do not necessarily agree with this means of job development, it is a good example because it shows that opportunity is possible after failure. The united states was economically depleted for more than ten years and found necessity in creating jobs based on the best interests of global society during the time.

Some may argue that personal interests do not have any place in determining what to study, as the purpose of attaining higher education is to pursue a promising career. Student goals in higher education are based on case-by-case analysis, as pursuit to higher education is distinct to that of career acquisition. For example, language is often a subject taken by students in effort to attain a working skill set superfluous to future career expectations. The purpose of education, while potentially beneficial to economic development, is generally defined independent of economic interests.

In conclusion, while education promotes development in society, considered of definition is an autonomous function. Students should consider future career options however, when pursuing paths to higher education a person should also consider their ethos and define their definition of higher education: is it a means to economic stability or is it the opportunity to create innovation? Perhaps the wise student finds both of these qualities.