It is through the use of logic and precise, careful measurement that we become aware of our progress. Without such tools, we have no reference points to indicate how far we have advanced or retreated.

The author asserts the importance of logic and careful measurement in the assessment of our progress. While I agree with this notion of using logic in measuring our progress I do not comply with the extremity of the argument that without logic we have no reference point to indicate our advancement of retreatment. Logic is indeed a very important tool but not everything in this earth can be measured by logic. There is place for emotion and humanity, which make us humans in the first place. We are able to use both parts of our brain as left cerebral cortex for logic and right cerebral cortex for emotion or creativity.

We are in the era of globalization through technological advancement. Seeing through logic the world is moving forwards and inventing new things and in the scale of measurement we will surely ace, be it in the medical science, food production, industrialization or adaptation of different technology in daily life to make it easier. The the question remains are we really advancing when we look around us and see the poverty, corruption, mal nutrition and inhumane selfish activities of people which causes distress to other people but logically thinking it is the correct way to be. There are several stories of back stabbing, corruption and keep other people directly or indirectly in danger which we cannot impute with logical flaws but rather a impaired human features.

Let us take an high school student for example who is bad at every class which incorporates mathematical computation but he has a extraordinary knack for aesthetics, arts ad crafts. We cannot regard that student as retreated rather he is advanced in other arena of creativity which cannot be measured in precise and careful scale. The subjectivity of arts need to be realized and feel connected about. The set of right and wrong answer life that of logic does not work here.

It is true nor a nation, world or even a singular human life should not be led entirely without opting out logic. That overall structure will collapse that way. Logic can be the primary guide of any course of action which we call critical thinking but the result of the action cannot be measured based on logic. Logically thinking the predicaments of using nuclear weapon in second world war was a prudent move on parts of America to end the war but will the maimed population of Japan will agree with it or does the humanity support the crippling of generations.

In sum, logic being predominant in defining the humanities prosperity should not be the case entirely just like the case human brain which has provision for both logic and creativity the world should also be measured in such way by maintaining a nuance balance between both subjectivity and objectivity.