“The true value of a civilization is reflected in its artistic creations rather than in its scientific accomplishments.”

Scientific discoveries, while appreciated widely by contemporary people, only have an immediate application value and do not always appeal to people’s feelings. On the other hand, artistic creation transcends in space and time that always touch the bottom of people’s hearts, and even espoused by numerous progeny thereafter. Countless pieces of historical evidences establish the fact that a highly developed economic society with escalating GDPs by which no or insufficient artistic achievements are upheld cannot be labeled as a true or great civilization. Worse still, its economic development could not maintain long enough if it were not for the support of artistic elements, be they talents, facilities and performances. In light of it, I totally agree with the author’s assertion that artist creations are more crucial in reflecting and maintaining the values of a civilization.

When a society merely stresses the importance of scientific accomplishments or development and at the same time overlooks artistic creations, the qualities of its citizens as a whole are worse off. Not only in the past, when one is looking at today’s splendid cities such as New York, London, Frankfurt and Tokyo, one will dawn on that they are not only economic capitals but also art centers. In history of humankind, there have had never been a highly economic city without artistic creations. Let us get down to fundamentals and agree that Paris but not Silicon Valley is a true civilization.

Then why a society with scientific accomplishments is not qualified to be a true civilization? A state-of-the art airport, a world class skyscraper or a modernized and efficient mass transport system are not enough to become a splendid and glorious city. These (and many other astounding scientific achievements) will become timeworn one day. Neither a few Andrew Lloyd Webber performances nor a fabulous city hall does not constitute it to be a civilized society. The critical key is they are only “hardware”. Artistic creations also need “software” -- intellectuals.

Compared with scientific accomplishments, artistic creations tend to reflect all walks of life in a society: the former only provides us with real life conveniences and enhance our understanding to what has been regarded a mystery but the latter can improve our spiritual quality. There is no doubt that artistic creations help heighten people’s sensation to truth, kindness, and beauty. For example, Dr. David Ho’s insightful discovery on the cause of Aid indeed put us a bigger step to the understanding on this strain of virus. Yet Beethoven’s 9 symphonies taught us to appreciate the composer’s struggle with life and his perseverance.

Last but not least, the true value of civilization is displaying in terms of its artistic creations as well as scientific achievements. But it is only the former to reflect human intrinsic qualities. Scientific achievements are of necessary in the sense that it help improve our extrinsic quality of living. It is an undeniable fact that 100 years later our posterity will pay serious attention to literature, paintings and other art genres rather than the cloning technology when studying history.