The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past night, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to whether and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather an local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during our late-night program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The memorandum form the busniess manager of the television as presented above makes a number of unwarranted assumtioms. Unless, the unwarranted assumptions are proved with evidence, the argument might fall apart and do harm to the busniess let alone the expected positive effect on the business.

Firslty, the memorandum from the manager states a over the past year, the late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news and with this information he refers that they recieved complaints from viewers concerned with weather and local news. There is no mention of the time frame, and also the viewers complain associate with this particular late night news program. It could be that the viewers were complaining about other times local and weather news. Another case, can be that after a particular local incident or sudden inclement weathe rmade the viewers requested for such things. So, a clear picture of the time frame about what time of the day and for which show did the compaints came about and also related local and weathers events in the time frame of the compaint is required to find out the whether the concerns from viewers were a generla one or for a certain events.

Secondly, the argument asserts that the local busniess that used to advertise during their late-night news program are backing off. There is no additional information that can answer the question that only local and wetaher news is responsible for cancelling adevertisement contract or there are other issues like the financial condition of the advertising company or did they approach some other advertising company which also gave similar response. There is also no metnion of any other factor affecting the relationship with the adevertising company, like the management fo the company could have chnage and they are viewing product in a different angle or there might be some contention in the relationship with the television channel and advertising company which also needs a conspicuous picture here.

Even if we consider that the advertising company is cancelling the contract based on the loss of TRP of the late night show, and the complain from viewers about local and weather news came for this particular show only, there is no guarantee that changing the content might increase the TRP of the show, it can be the case that the particular showing timing cannot expect more that audience or the host of the show might not be able to attract viewers. Besides, there is no data n the number of viewers willing to know about local and wetaher news. It can be the case that the number of new target customers can be less in number that the audience who are viewing currently and are more interested in international news. The chnage of content will immeditely loose the existing viewers.

In conclusion it can be said that without having proper evidence to the unstated assumption made as mentioned above action according to the memorandum might render chilling effect on the business of the television station question the long term sustainability of the business as well. So to make sure a positive impact of the decision made now for the business requires information on the above stated assumptions to strengthen the argument.