Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement made here is not completely valid. We should be critical of our past but not stuck in it. History can provide us information necessary for the present but trying to emulate it or celebrating it can be deeply dangerous.

Keeping records and the methodlogy of such a project has been a long been an obsession of humans. The chronology of events, the role played by different actors does reveal a lot of information. This has for important reason that histroy has been one of the contested areas of debate. Writing down the history of a nation has been one of the primary method to create a national identity. Such a project has always ful of controversy as these state sanctioned history has mostly been violent to the minorities, namely gender, religious and race. History of India is no different. The mainstream history has submerged the stories of people from the lower caste. The stories of upper caste violence on these people were also kept under the carpet. The relentless work of anti-caste scholar and activists have made these stories available. These scholars again took to history to subvert the majorataian history, thus exposing the double violence, that is violence itself and then trying to hide that violence. So looking back can be an important process because the political powers and the majoritarians are trying to create narratives that suit them.

Moreover, 1960s saw a rise of environmental movement primarily to ban DDT. This relentless protest has created the background for todays environment movement. Though in these years several industrial groups have tried hard to tamper facts. It is knwon that many of the industrial lobbying group knew about global warming back in 1940s but while these companies funded research. They also trided to keep their findings away from the public knowledge, in which they were partly successful untill now.These knowledge of sabotage in the past has an interesting effect on the environment movement- this gave the movement the much required anti-capitalist agenda. Making it clear that though the capitalist can fund a project but would never make it useful for the public. Though these capitalist organisations can say- Go Green, but people who look at their history know well about there fraudulent.

However, we should note that looking at the past should be done critically. The chronology of events, the epistem can provide with much need answers for the riddles of the present, but we should avoid celebrating or emulating what was done in the past. Human world is always progressing with each new technology our surrounding, our philosophies and our needs, all are changing. So what was relevent in the past may not be relevent now. That is what the conservative, specifically the Hindutva groups in India is doing that is finding solution of the present problems in the glorious ancient past of India.

So looking at the past may help us take action in the present but the over-indulgence can lead us complete astray.