The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

There are significant loopholes in the above argument. In order to validate the argument further information are required. Presently the whole argument has very little premise to it.

The present decision of restricting the development has been taken on the basis that Maple Countrty is becoming overdeveloped. The idea of overdevelopment needs to be explained and explored further. How did they reach to such conclusion? Based on some survey or looking at the ratio of farmland to housing? These questions have been left unclear. Overdeveloped can also mean that the resources like farm produce and basic amenities such as schools and health facilities in the area are unable to support the present population. Further, it can also point towards the decreasing greenery or depleting groundwater, which is unable to suffice the needs of the people and are overstrained. If they dicuss the details then much of these can have different remedies. Untill the details of these intial conjecture is discussed its difficult to have a proper outcome.

Moreover, Maple County's case has been compared to two other Counties, though there is significant difference in what happened in Chestnut County and Pine County. The increase in price in Pine county can be due different reason like may be it's one of the most well connected part of the province while Chestnut county is not. Or possibly the price of housing at Pine County was basically much lower than Chestnut Country, so due to such restrictions buyers thought that this is the best opportunity to occupy these property. So even after the price double itself but still it was much cheaper than Chestnut County's initial price.

Moreover, there can be significant change in the economy over the time like 15 years ago the economy was doing well and people were buying properties; then in five years after, there was this stock market crash and the economy dipped. The housing bubble can be a possible reason, that previous to the stock market crash peaople were buying properties at high price, even by taking loans from banks. As the housing bubble developed and burst in 2008 people did not have enough money and banks were not providing the loans as well.So they should look into the present economic condition.

The prediction that council reached looks premature they should pay attention to the other factors before taking such a rash decision. By looking into the different case they may come up with different solution.