Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The theory states that its due to the change in the ice cover pattern their is a change in migration pattern of the deer and this is the primary reason for the decline in tits population. Such a theory looks far flung as migration patterns can change not necessarily resulting in the decline of population. As animals adapt to their new condition, especially if its gradual change like global warming (in the present state).

The article states that there is a decline in the deer population and states that the source to the information are the local hunters. There are problems regarding the source cited here. The hunters generally don't visit the arctic regions to verify if the deer population has actually decreased. They probably stay in the wait in the islands for the deer to arrive. If the argument has to sustain then more credible source is required. Rather than just theorising about the decline in population the better idea can be to visit the Arctic region to verify the given information.

If there is a decline in deer population then also its important to understand if the decline is due to global warming or due to hunting. There is a possibility that due to hunting the population of the deer grew thin. The local hunters will obviously won't be great source of information to highlight the problems related to hunting of deer. As that would adversely affect their reputation and further bring in jurisdiction on hunting.The deer behaviour and choice of habitat may have changed due to human activities like hunting or population increase in these regions.

Another possible reason why it is difficult to believe in the theory that melting of ice led to a decline of deer population because it is possible that the writers are tracking only the traditional path followed by the deer. Then the deer are taking different path due to the change in ice cover pattern, it is highly erroneous to consider that all of the ice cover has melted. Global warming is still an on going process. So this different ice cover pattern can led them to different islands. Moreover, it is important to look in the vegetation cover of the islands where the deer traditionally resorted to. There is a possibility that due to deforestation the plants they use to feed on is sparse and they found a better alternative.To mitigate all of these critical questions its important to trace the deer that still arrive on these islands trace their path. migration pattern can be traced down if we can take where these herd start from. Moreover the changes in the population density and vegtation cover are to be looked into, to understand the validity of the proposition. Until we look into other possibilities and render them insignificant theorising on the decline just based on global warming seems premature.

The theory has to invalidate several other claims in order to justify its standing.In the meantime its remains a proposition based on several logical inconsistencies.