Men and women, because of their inherent physical differences, are not equally suited for many tasks.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The problem of this kind of a statement is that its often turns out to be biologically determined but negeting the physical difference is turning away from reality.The inherent physical difference between male and female are obvious but that does not necessarily mean that they are absolutely unsuited for similar task. The issue has certain nuances which should be dealt more metaculously than just as a passing comment.

If we take the biological determinism seriously the question that needs to be asked- is the workplace planned keeping mind a male worker or a female worker. The answer is often obvious from the design of workplace to the company policies all are planned with a male worker in mind, untill recently. So the outcome of glossing over the physical differences between the two gender just as a means to oppose the biological determinism has had its problem. Though there was an opposition and rightly so, but that did not change the reality of women being excluded from work. More recent changes in the work culture- both structural and policy-wise changes has enabled women to work in same spaces with men.

Though, the prejudices are prevalent, often a female worker getting success is compared moral degradation or due to their sycophantism. This type of lewd comments show the nature of the work place the insecurities of a patriarchal setup. By emphacizing on patriarchy, it is implied that this kind of behaviour is not gendered. Often women vilify their fellow female employee in similar tone. Such prejudice on the long run proves to be difficult for the collective as it give more power to the already dominant gender. Thus, in IT industry its quite a prevalant bias that female workers cannot do innovative work, though those are just ways to make the space inimical for the female workers, who are already less in number.

As we see how biological determinism and prejudices are still prevalent. We see, especially in chemical industries in India female workers are not taken as chemical are supposedly more harmful for women. Though this idea reeks of biological determinism but absolute negetion of a scientific claim, atleast the way it is mentioned on the bottles of reagent, need serious research. This sort of murky grounds exists. Then smae was said for women worker in textile industry but since outsourcing of the textle industry from the firts world nations, the majority of the labour force from India, China and Combodia are women. Though this women severe health problems but they are still sort for as they provide cheap labour. So when cheap labour can be extrated the logic of physical difference and suitability for a certain task gets sidelined.

Mainly, there are difference between the innate physical attributes of male or female but to make that a deterministic factor for exclusion or exploitation is problematic.