Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Flexibility of laws are often considered to weaken the legal system. though this is an erroneous understanding, as law depends on the cultural, political and social institution. The fundamental constituent of modern legal system is rationality which paves the way for natural justice. As debated many times that their can never be a single rationale. Rationality varies in place, time and circumstances.

As we know killing human is a criminal offence in every country around the world but killing for self-defence is not. This is so because murder is considered violent while protecting oneself is averting that violence, which is just in any circumstance. Then certain cases like sexual violence, is a criminal act in any circumstance; their cannot be any be any logical reason to deny natural justice to the survivor.

Then, we have seen laws change over the period. As we see, in the present era with several women's rights movements the violence against women has received greater importance in the legal systems. There are legal clauses which protect survivors from facing humiliation and provide primary importance to their testimonials in cases of sexual violence. Such protection and dignified treatment was unimaginable in the 19th century or before. The changes in law over time is a significant to define the morals and ethics of society. This sort of changes came after years of fight on the street and in the courtroom defining the rationale of the new era.

Another significant example, in India legal system are colonial laws like UAPA or Official secrets act, which are used to scare and deter human rights activists or social workers. Under these draconian laws, the person is guilty when charged with a case thus bypass the natural justice. The autocratic laws should have been changed but the political powers and the legal experts defined their post colonial state based on these oppressive laws. Thus by not allowing to change these law, the legal system continues to be as oppressive as the British colonial state. If India has to have true independence and freedom then such laws are to change and natural justice is to be restored.

Recently, Iceland declared all religion to be "Weapon of mass destruction". Though many lauded this as a progressive move but in India such a law will mean to oppress the citizens, where practicing religion is one of the fundamental rights of India citizens. Legal system should not force its decision on the people. The work of a legal expert is complex, they cannot simply hold something significant based on scientific rationality. As rationality is defined also by the cultural, social and political ethos, thus is subjected to variations.