A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The idea of same national curriculum has takers among policy-makers and corporate, especially as education in this century has been a key component for national integration. The identity of the citizen is largely developed in schools, where they learn to be a citizen of a nation state. But this sort of nationalized curriculum has come across a lot of criticism in the past.

One of the problems in standardization of a curriculum is that it is extremely exclusive. For instance, in India which is a culturally diverse, a single national curriculum has often meant domination of Hindi and English as a language. The about the domination of North India- centre being in Delhi (North India)- as often been criticized for being exclusive toward the other parts of the country which have their own vernacular language. Such debates are not new in India, there has always been state boards under the supervision of individual state governments along side central Board like CBSE and ICSE.

Furthermore the debates become crucial when it comes to the marginalized section. Often these standard curriculums do not suit the lower caste or Muslims as they are designed by the majority community, Hindus. So the way in which the ideas are developed are insensitive or culturally irrelevant to the marginalized sections. Like due to the caste ridden nature of the Indian society the dalits(lower caste) have faced atrocities but the standard curriculum has mostly avoided the mention of such events. While the dalit organizations have regularly highlighted such violent omission in the content. Such criticism is often in conjunction with the problem of nationalized education instead of more local one.

Moreover, in the last decade there has been an overall consensus that education should be culturally sensitive. This has developed relentless fight for inclusivity in national education and mainstream. Presently, these critics, mainly from the anti-caste or anti-race movement, have shown that standardized national curriculum cannot help student from marginalized section to get into the mainstream. As the pedagogy and institutional structure itself is discriminatory. They are, thus, talking of a context specific education where students can actually learn what is relevant. One such experiment in a black locality, which is extremely polluted due to dumping of hazardous waste, has shown that students are keener on learning what is going around in their surroundings. They have developed a curriculum to study about the chemicals (in science), writing letter to the mayor for some resolution ( in english), etc. So a number of different sort of assessment and field visit is helping student learn with more interest.

A nationalized education can make it easier for a government or corporate to have standardized scale of judgment but such a method has always favored the majority. Thus when we are talking of social justice and inclusivity such a centralized curriculum is certainly not a way forward.