Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

When we think of education there are two contradictory idea that puzzles our policy and outlook. In

modern world education has served a medium of establishing oneself, with good job, hefty salary and improved lifestyle. on the other hand to have ethical and humanitarian values. Educators have always been divided on these to ideas.over the long period of time though the debate has always been tilted towards the more social role of education but policy wise the notion of lucrative career has triumphed.

Most of the people have also bought into the notion that education is a means for lucrative jobs but such a notion actually hurts our basic idea of innovation. Innovators such as Albert Einstein would not have challenged the classical physics or the computer revolution won't occur if Bill gates were concerned about lucrative jobs. For both of them education institutes were mere cog in the wheel but not the major propeller. Education in the instituitions have its limits, they are meant to serve general population of students.

The instituitions could play an important role if they could challenge the status quo. Seldom that happened in history. Even the debate regarding ethics and humanitarian concerns have been mostly overshadowed in educational institutes and education policies. The role of education as suggested by john dewey or Ambedkar was one of emancipation butin practice this has remained in papers. As ethics at times can work against having a lucrative job. If a nuclear scientist was thinking of ethics he could have hardly caused the destruction at Hiroshima but then Robert opennhiemer remains one such scientist who let go his ethic to create the most dangerous weapon in the world.

The creation of labour pool for the capitalist to exploit remains the major drive to model education in ways that the student can let go ethics and subsume their knowledge in getting jobs. The constant demand to maintain a better life style acts as a fuel to this. Some argue that preparing students for jobs is the most practical approach. In the technical world, knowledge can be used for social benefit when the students starts working. If they spend years thinking of ethics and human values its a wastage of public resource. Then the paradox gazes at the face of the argument as in most case the student turned labour does not have the ethical parameter to judge the outcome of what he is creating. often they sacrifice on ethics to create products that are harmful and leads to greater destruction.

Such has been the case of modern world where education promised a better life for all but now the same knowledge can blow it up, just clicking a button.