Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two ideas mentioned where contradicts at times but they do not necessarily cancel each other. Working for the working in accordance to people's voice can itself be an ethics. Ultimately, leaders aren't working alone, they are negotiating power and the political and social structure in country thus it's a fallacy to consider a leader to be just as one self. He is as much as the self as he is a personification of the system.

An ideal government should be pro-people. We have moved much ahead of the idea that an intellectual or an any individual as such can take decision for the vast majority of people. There has been lot of examples in the anti-race movement to show that an pro-people humanistic government is one who is interact with the social movements and working more on the local concerns that just addressing issue in form of centralized national level policy. Several such local level policy can itself from the larger policy framework, providing a scope for diverse and varied solution. Till now what we have seen, that nation state due to its own insecurities have made sure that the state government is dominated by the center. Such a method of governance has meant to be very exclusive for people from very diverse social backgrounds, especially in large and diverse nations like India or United States. So, what is being emphacized further is that if we plan from the local to the state and then to the central, that is decentralized model of governance can be far more inclusive and humanitarian. In such case the clash between the humanitarian ethics and the priciple of an ideal political leader both conforms.

Overall, two attribute essntial in potics is being rational and pragamatic. The above mechanism actually takes care of the both far better than a centralized government. Thus, this allows them to mitigate the contradiction between the two statements. Otherwise the second statement is rather idealistic. As a political leader cannot be simply driven by idea and principle, especially if they are in opposition to the principles and obejectives of the people. This is so beacuse a leader cannot be working in a vaccum. Whom he is representing is the same people who elected him, if their principles stand opposed to each other then he can hardly be the people's leader thus become an authoritarian.

Though, an important in this debate is who is considered as the people. As we have seen in past that Women were not considered people (citizen with rights) before the Suffragate. Same went for the marginalized groups, for long; they had to take to the streets to be considered as people by the political leader. Thus, at times the people, that only men before Suffragate happened had to be negated for a more progress toward a more humanitarian society. So rationalism and humanitarian concern are primary, it may at times come form the people and at time be opposed to it.

Thus a good leader is one who remains in constant engagement with the people and does not consider himself as the source of all moral upliftment.