The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In a democratic nation people should decide what governs them. The ballot box is not where citizen's duty ends. Citizens are to stay in constant engagement to decide on the policies and court verdicts. The engagement between the People and the authorities can together lead to a better society.

The history of the nation state is very recent. Human are still learning about what it means to be a citizen of a nation state; this statement is more relevant for the post- colonial countries which has got their independence in the middle of last century. In India, too, the citizens are coping with their responsibilities and rights to be active participants in the modern nation state.Though their is a notion that the responsibility of the citizens end once they leave the voting centres.

But more recently we have seen that citizens are reacting to the policies passed by the government. As we saw that recent amendments in the education policy such as scrapping of the University Grant Commission or introduction of the bill to set up Institues of Eminence was sharply critiqued for its agenda to privatize. This was taking place in conjunction to amendments that will lead to end of Reservation for citizens of lower caste. The civil society sharply criticized the government of playing into the hand of big businesses by compromising the promise of education for all.The institute of eminence bill shall lead to greater investment from private bodies and increase in the fees of colleges and universities, which shall disallow students from lower class or caste to avail quality education and infrastructure. The citizens could force the government against passing the bill.

Then, the recent bill which make the adivasi, the oldest inhabitants of the India, illegal occupiers of forest and thereby not allowing them to use the forest produce, which traditionally have been part of their culture. The civil society again played and active role in dissuading the government form passing the draft, as a bill. They criticized the content of the bill, which claimed adivasi are the threat to the forest and natural resources, while its is well known fact that adivasi are know for their sustainable realtion with the forest. The citizens groups exposed the double faced nature of the government which was handing over the forest to the corporate. The corporate have long exploited the natural resources for profit.They challenged the same at the court to stop government from displacing the advasis from their land.

However, there are examples where citizen have not taken progressive role. As we can see in the case of Section 377 which granted right to life for LGBTQ groups. After passing of the law, though progressive forces rejoiced, the right wing Hindutva group moved in condemnation. Same was seen for the court ruling, for the entry of women in Sabrimala temple.The gates of the temple was closed to women for long. But the progressive ruling called for huge protest mobilised by the Hindutva groups. Several women who tried to enter the temple were attacked. Ultimately it was Kerala government that restored the court ruling.

The engagements are indeed important but then its not always that citizen make the best choice, above all it is important that rationality prevails over the reactionary forces.