The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The conclusion drawn in the following memorandum have certain loopholes. The fact believe that the television station can draw viewers just by going back to the previously successful program is supported by little premise.

For instance, the manager mentions of complains they recieved from the customers about the weather and local news coverage but she does not go into the details of the complains.They might be complaining about the decrease in the local coverage but that does not necessarily mean that they don't want the national coverage. There problem might be about specific news that were not covered but overall they are fine. How can we possibly know that all the audience want the local news and weather report. There can be more viewers who did not send complain as they are liking the new programs. Now even they can move away with these sudeen change in the schedule.

There is a chance that the audiences has found some new program which is more intriguing and exciting. Generally they are no more interested in news coverage on television and they are using the Internet. May be they are watching some soap or television series late at night. In that case the company should find some different method of news production in order to attract audience. Like, they can go for a late night comedy show which blends comedy with news.

Moreover, one of the major reasons for losing viewers and revenue can be due to new competitors. There are new news brodacasting network which has more viewers. May be they have better coverage and there working is more professional than this particular station. So the company mighty introspect on its working style and ethics of delaing with the advertisers. They can provide cheaper advertising slots then some more advertiser will invest.

The following arguments needs to be reviewed and the company should scrutinize some of the other possible reason, before they reach for a conclusion.