Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The 20th century technological revolution has changed the lives and surroundings in which human live. Then in the middle of the century the coming of computer followed by the internet has not only changed communication, knowledge structures but the entire philosophy of human existence.

One of the major boom of the technological revolution was the computer and the rise of world wide web. Information and data revolution, and the digitization of books and finance has led to major shifts in how humans structured their surroundings. The coming of the internet has been a medicine for the bureaucratic dizziness. Coming of internet banking, online booking system, e-tax filing systems has made bureaucratic works untiring. Much of the work can be done on the PC or mobile handset sitting at home or office. This has also brought up issues like surveillance and data privacy issues.

An educated mass has also become self sufficient, to a certain level, like they have learned to self medicate based on the information provided in medical websites(like MediWorld). There are research papers and old rare documents available in different fields which can be accessed specially from open sources journals and websites under digital commons. Thus knowledge has become easier to obtain; perviously to read journals and access rare documents it was necessary to access libraries. Progress it self is a double aged sword- as knowledge become readily available so is the flurry of spurious sites and journals. There are many youtube pages that provides unscientific information pertaining to health and medicine.

The same can be seen over the social media. While it has become a medium of communication to access to information in the globalised world, it has also become an effective medium for propaganda and fake news. We have come across the role played by the Facebook in US elections or in India how fake news is used in Watsapp groups to sabotage facts. While one one hand people are fighting for their right to privacy hence reduction of userdata available to the private companies. On the other hand its important to have the data for these priavte agencies to control fake news.

So while the Internet promised to simplify and make life easier in the fast changing globalised world but its has constantly making life difficult. Once what was considered a boon can well become bane. Though its social and political condition that ultimately decides the fate of technology.