SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

There are several discripencies in the logic that has lead to these conclusion that Corpotateville is a cheaper and safe place. The company should have rationalised the argument more closely before reaching to the conclusion.

Clearly, the conclusion that Corporateville is safer place is not backed with enough information. Possibly the employee's choice of a non-urban area make them believe that non-urban areas are unsafe. Frist of all the workers prefence is unclear as they don't clearly state how many workers said so. There can be workers who can think that Middlesburg is a better palce to stay in. So it is necessary to know what percent of the workers really wanted to move to Corporateville. Then it is unclear how informed are the workers themselves to compare the two places. If proper information was not taken this can anger the employee and they may opt for a different company for these place being difficult to live in.

Moreover, their is no indication how they reached the conclusion that Corporatecille is a safer place. Did they look into the crime records? So a comparative study of the crime record take reveal some data about which is a safer place. Moreover, if safety is meant by availbility of hospitals proper mode of communication then nothing has been told to campare the two cities. Middlesburg being an urban area may provide for all the important amenities like hospital, school and banks in a nearby locations. Moreover,may be there are places for amusement nearby while moving to Corporateville will make access to all these amenities and places of amusement difficult.

The argument conclude that Corporateville is a cheaper place just based on the fact that the taxes are low. The place is cheap or not depends on other factors such as good road, communication, public services, availbility of cheap market area. The Corporateville may have no cheap market are and may be everything has to be obtained from far away place or from shopping malls, or may be it has no public traspport as was present in Middlesburg thus raising the daily cost of living. Data on things which affect everyday life are required to understand if the place is cheap or not. If low tax means lower corporate tax, then also then its imporatnt to see if the delivery of product and obtaining of raw material and other resources does not trump the saving made from low taxes.

The arguments has been reached abruptly and certain claims have been made without takaing a closer look into the possiblities and fallout of these decision. The rise in the cost of living can ultimately turn unprofitable for the company when the employees starts to resign.