Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The two ideas mentioned here contradicts at times but they do not necessarily cancel each other. Working in accordance to people's voice can itself be an ethics. Ultimately, leaders aren't working alone, they are negotiating power and the political and social structure in country thus it's a fallacy to consider a leader to be just as oneself. He is as much as the self as he is a personification of the system.

An ideal government should be pro-people. We have moved much ahead of the idea that an intellectual or an any individdual as such can take decision for the the vast majority of public. There has been voices in the anti-race movement to show that an pro-people humanistic government is one who interacts with the social movements and working more on the local concerns than just addressing issue in form of centralized national level policy. Several such local level policy can itself form the larger policy framework, providing a scope for diverse and varied solution. Till now what we have seen, that nation state due to its own insecurities have made sure that the state government is dominated by the center. Such a method of governance has meant to be very exclusive for public from diverse social backgrounds, especially in large and diverse nations like India or United States. So, what is being emphacized here is that if we plan from the local to the state and then to the central, that is decentralized model of governance can be far more inclusive and humanitarian. In such case the clash between the humanitarian ethics and the priciple of an ideal political leader conforms.

Overall, two attribute essential in politics are rationality and pragmatism. The above mechanism actually takes care of the both and is far more effective than a centralized governance. Thus, this allows us to mitigate the apparent contradiction between the two statements. Otherwise the second statement is rather idealistic and if played out in reality can have dangerous fallout. As a political leader cannot be simply driven by ideal and principle, especially if these principles and ideals stand opposed to the public. This is so because a leader cannot be working in a vacuum. Whom the leader is representing is the same person who elected him, if his principles stand opposed to his constituents then he can hardly be the people's leader, thus becomes an authoritarian.

Though, an important point in this debate is- who is considered as the "public". As we have seen in past that Women were not considered "public" (citizen with rights) before the Suffragette movement. Same happened for other marginalized groups, for long; they had to take to the streets to be considered as public by the political leaders. Thus, at times, the "public"- that is only men before Suffragette- had to be negated for a more progress toward a more humanitarian society. So rationalism and humanitarian concern are primary, it may at times come form the "public" and at time be opposed to it. Though what was needed here was to expand the definition of the word itself. That being done, as a just and rational cause, emphasize that its the "Public"(with its expanded meaning) plays a crucial role in politics.

Thus a good leader is one who remains in constant engagement with the Public and does not consider himself as the source of all moral upliftment.