Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Educating a student is not simply burgeoning the educators knowledge of a topic. The teacher-student chemistry plays a crucial role in how we develop interest. Though its is essential to remember that teacher remains guiding force with his greater experience and subject knowledge.

Planning of courses have two parts, to choose a course that would be taught and what are the constituent of the chosen course.For the first one, the students involvement is necessary where they can state their choices. Suppose there is a course on poetry and the choices are modern Indian, British or American poetry. If the students choose American poetry, for instance, then the teacher has the upper hand in saying what they need to study. While reading modern American poetry, the student cannot say we don't want to study Emily Dickson or Walt Whitman.These poets are the fundamental building blocks on which the concept of Modern American poetry is constructed. Hence, we cannot always ignore some of the core topics even if the students are not interested. But the students suggestions become important while designing the course. Suppose the students are more interested in Beat poets then teacher can start the course from there and gradually move back and forth.

Another important complication arises when students view point is taken into account is when different students have varied suggestions. Then the teachers are to decide the major emphasis point of the course keeping in mind the duration and capability of the student. The experience of the teacher is crucial while designing the course. He is the expert, hence, can have the overview of several factors, such the fundamentals of the course, the specific learning outcome or the skills developed in the course. The educators experience of taking the course on previous occasion also changes the way he approaches the course, due to his interactions with previous batches. So the educator has to have good interaction while deciding on the topics to be covered.

The students, as said earlier, plays crucial role in deciding how the course flows from one topic to another. Giving importance to their point of interest can indeed draw their attention. Suppose we start with Beat movement then trace back their stylistic elements to Whitman and then show their influence on the next generation. this sort of a interactive method is required to make the course innovative, as it can generate active interest in students.

Teaching as process depends lot on the interaction and communication between teacher and students. Hence it is important that students point of view is kept in mind while planning the course.