Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals ahave largely become new item, not just in content, the news also read and sounds like scandals which is less on fact and more about vilification.These scandals are playing a significant role is counties politics in diverting attention from issue which effects peoples life.

Scandals have ruined lifes of celebrities and politicians.The mass media has at scandals to raise their TRP ratings, as public is more drawn to scnadals than serious news items like policy, corruption, etc. There is pleasure gulit when it comes to scandals which draws people into it. For example, a footballer having a misstress can draw flak on the footballer while also becoming the source of sexual fantasy to the same people who detest the player. In Indian politics corruption has enetered into every sphere of governance, hardly one can claim they have not used any corrupt means. There is no sense of guilt in it when people tallk about the corrupt means they have employed in their work; still it has a scandalous property in it, which the media seldom exploits.

one of the important constituent of scandal is not its content but also the form, that is, the way the media creates hype in its reporting style. Lately the media reporting style of corruption in such a way that it can become scandalous. By scandalous it is meant that it just becomes a source of humilition and ostricization Where no rational explanation works.

The political parties have lately used such scandals and scandalous coruuption charges to challenge political parties in power. The outcome such a strategy is that the opposition party are do an entire election campaign on such scandals with taking of the policy changes and issues they will address oce they come to power. This has been a serious problem in recent elections around the world where the fascist parties could use their mass media propagandist to bypass all democratic processes by creating a hype around such scandalous issue.

Though as sign of hope and to fight against fascism it is often stated that such means of gaining power wont be useful for long. As The optimists in the left, states that people's agenda or issues happending in the people backyards, ones which could not be avoided, like food security, health or job will always triumph against these fascist strategies. The elections in Brazil, India or Israel have proved otherwise where fascists used scandals to delegitimize their opponents.

The corporate media has become one of the fundamentals threat to democracies as they have completely given up on journalistic ethics for profit. In such a climate the scandal indeed has become a significant factor to divert attention.