Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role of the education cannot be about dissuading the student but to generate active interest and explore the strengths o the individual students.

The present statement has words that are to be explored clearly. The idea of success is primarily an area of concern; if making money with the subject that is being studied is a measure of success and research is not then there is serious problem with the statement. For example, if we take the example of India where students are dissuaded from studying social science or humanities as the subjects don’t fetch good salary. This sort of a mindset has led to a real poverty of understanding of history or significance of art in their daily life. Moreover the work of the institute can never be about dissuading rather a proper exposure to the different fields possible. This will enable students to have better understanding of the skill set required if one pursues the field professionally. taking from previous example, we have seen that in many cases a student having an interest in social causes and their working are not allowed to pursue a subject like sociology or political science, as that person has received higher marks that qualifies him for science, even though he/ she can have active interest in it. Therefore with this sort of constricted idea its believed that just because the child excelled in maths or science in school education will any way find this field suitable or at least make good money.

Another problem of being too dependent on institution is that most of the educational institution does have space beyond conventional subjects. Like art, cinema or music as seen as extra-curricular and does receive the same amount of attention.

This does not mean that students won’t be guided by the institution obviously having a councilor, who is less biased in her outlook, can look into the skill of the students and guide them based on a sustained engagement. The scope of discussion should not be limited to just the choices available in the school curriculum.

The education institute should guide students but not dissuade them from choosing a subject.