To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most important features of a society is hardly revealed by studying the cities and moreover the word most important is itself contentious. As I understand by the word “important”, it’s mainly the issues ignored by the state and capital. In order to look into the vagaries of the people and injustices then cities alone cannot be enough.

The cities have become the financial centre of globalised world so most of the attention, at the global stage, to understand societies starts from the cities. Indeed this can be where we start to understand the society as we can find a conglomeration of issue like migration, job, inequality and displacement. The migrant and their plight can be examined in depth as we explore the condition of the suburbs and the villages. As if we want understand this people who move to the city to seek for work and their cultural disparity then it is necessary to understand where they belong. Moreover if we try to understand the third world nations where most of the people live in the villages then city and city life hardly reveals much information.

There has been a long standing trend in Indian Sociology where sociologists have went back to the villages to understand the very essence of India. This practice, at some level, was deviced as a counter to their colonial history and the deep disjuncture with what we can call the truly Indian past. Though this has romanticism about it but this enabled sociologists and later scholars of allied fields to come up with a comparative understanding as most of the scholars were urban, hence understanding the urban life and vagaries was a much easier.

Moreover even in the first world nation merely understanding the major cities aren’t enough. If we look into the environmental justice movement it is clear that the understanding of environmental racism developed in the suburb and the rural areas where most of the chemical industries dumped their waste.

The look into the cities can hence provide a lob-sided view of reality, merely limited to a certain rhetoric of “growth and development” while ignoring the fact that who really pays for this growth.