Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

The statement declares that knowing about the past events will not help people to make better decisions, however I think studying history and become informed about previous events have many advantages and help people gain more experience and confidence that eventually help them make correct decisions.

First, Knowing about the history and the steps governments and people took in their life, make one familiar with the mistakes they did and, help them not to repeat these mistakes again. In other words, people can learn a lot reading the history, they can enhance their experience and learn the methods our ancestors had applied to overcome the problems. For example consider the prehistoric dams which have been constructed on rivers thousands years ago, later people saw these structures and tried to construct similar structure with higher functionality which control the flow of water. This process of watching the history of these structure and trying to improve their functionality in the newer ones have leaded to the modern dams which not only do their initial functionality but also generate electricity. Hence studying old inventions and being familiar with their logics can highly help people in their present life.

Furthermore, knowing about the past and finding out that, people in the past also did many similar mistakes, can help people increase their confidence toward facing their problems. They become aware that, they are not the only ones who did these mistakes and, as people in the past overcome these problem by hard work, they can solve these problems too.

Another thing to mention is about the information which are gained through studying history. This can be a way for the people of a country to become familiar with their glorious history and, motivate them to try harder to repeat their success and fame. For example, people in china has a honorable history, relying on this rich history, Chinese people try hard to regain their great position again.

Admittedly, the condition of present time is not exactly the same as in the past, in this regard all the method and experiences of past people cannot be repeated precisely, however they can be a starting point to know the issues better and become motivated to find required solution.

In conclusion, in contrast to the claim of the statement, I think knowing about the past can help people a lot in understanding their problems better and use the experience of the past people to better solve the present problems, Also becoming aware about the honorable history of their country may increase the motivations of the citizens of a country and make them more confident about following their plans.