In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero.

First, what make people to be considered as heroes, are their commitments to do the activities that benefit the society. Has these people and their activates disappeared? Obviously not! Even now there are numerous people who concern about the problems of people. Consider for example "Bill Gates" from his retirement as the CEO of Microsoft he has spent billions of his wealth in order to ameliorate the life of poor people all over the world. He has also gave many financial aids to the organizations which work on the education of African people. Can Gates be considered as a hero? Based on the believes of just people yes. He has all the required characteristics of a hero, who has devoted his life and his wealth to the welfare of miserable people.

Admittedly with the advent and globalization of media, people cannot hide much about their private life from the society. This has gave the public access to almost every aspect of the life of famous people. When people see these renown individuals and understand that they have their own mistakes, selfishness, and, banal desires, they will not applaud them as before. Nowadays with the free flow of information that media has given to us the possibility to become a hero in eyes of other citizens of a society become much harder, however it is not impossible. People see famous individuals and become aware about their degradations and merits, but in some cases the merits of individuals are so high that despite their few degradations they can be considered as a hero.

Another thing to mention is about the differences between the present time and past time. In past people had limited information about their champions. Their information was a mixed story of reality and fiction. This caused to the situation in which these heroes were believed to have supernatural abilities. Take for example Hercules. It is very plausible that this individual was a powerful man who helped other people and fight with villain, but as people knew a little about his life they started to make tales about him and gave him supernatural abilities.

In conclusion, I think if we believe that an individual is a hero if and only if he or she had supernatural abilities, this is true that we can cannot regard a person as hero any more, but if the requirements of being a hero is the commitments of these people to the welfare of all members of the society and devoting their life in order to help others, we do have these heroes even now.