The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

There is no survey that indicates Monroe citizens' interest in going to jazz clubs. They may like listening Jazz music while they are working or resting in their home, but they may have few motivations to go to Jazz clubs too. Perhaps this lack of interest in going to Jazz club is the actual reason of why there has not been a Jazz club nearby.

The C-Note owners mentioned to the recent Jazz festival in Monroe city and the high number of people who participated to this festival as a fact that confirms their success, however, participating in Jazz festival do not necessarily show the citizens' interests in Jazz music. May be because of the high number of participants and the activities that people can do regarding this population and the joy and fun among these huge number of people is the actual reason of the popularity of this festival in Monroe. Perhaps the best way to understand the actual reasons of the festival participants is to ask reasonable number of them about their reason to go to this Jazz festival.

Also, C-Notes owners referred to a nationwide survey which claims averagely every jazz fan spends about 1000 dollars a year on jazz entertainments. However, the results of this survey is too general and they may not hold true in Monroe, the annual expense on Jazz entertainment in Monroe city might be much lesser than this number. Furthermore the kind of surveyed entertainment is unknown, perhaps Jazz fans spend a lot on buying Jazz instruments or Jazz songs and records rather than on going to Jazz clubs. In this regard, as I mentioned earlier and now I am pointing another aspect of it, a more detailed survey should be run in Monroe city to clarify the approximate money Monroe citizens would spend on going to Jazz clubs.

In conclusion, It may be true that creating a Jazz club in Monroe city become a true success, however the reasons that C-Notes owner have presented in their application have many unjustified claims and make in mind many questions, some of which I have presented above. Answering these question will help evaluate this application and decide whether fund this project or not.