Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Firs question to be answered is about the similarity of the residents of Rocville and Medway. Do they share the same characteristics? Is it wise to conclude that since listener of Rockville Radio Station (RRS) are more interested in call in advice program, the listener of Medvay Radio Station (MRS) like these programs too? Answering to this question can be done running a survey in which the listener of MRS are asked about their favorite radio programs and whether they have any interest in call in advice programs or not.

Furthermore, the station manager referred to a recent nationwide survey which claims that many radio listener are interested in call in advice programs, however the information he or she has given is very qualitative. It is not clear what percentage of the listener like these programs. Also it is not clear whether this survey is reliable enough or not. Was it defined and implemented wisely to be a good representative of the total community of radio listener?

In addition, there is no statistics to support the claim of the station manager. It was just claimed that many radio listener showed their interest in these programs, but what did he mean by "many radio listener"? Does it mean most of them? For example ninety percent of total listener, or just a few percent that indicates there exist also some listener who likes call in advice programs.

Another important question to be answered is about the requisites of starting these kind of radio programs. Does MRS have enough equipment, well trained staff and, reliable experts to start call in advice programs? In this regard, it may be true that including more call in advice program will increase the number of audience, but as MRS is not well equipped with the required conditions, it will fail in this way.

In conclusion, many questions come to mind considering the claims of the station manager, which knowing their answers can help MRS better evaluate their validity and decide whether including more call in device program is a good policy to increase the share of audience in the area or, MRS should find another approach to do so.