Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

The statement, declares that governments should refuse to help financially all the research that has ambiguous consequences. However this is a delicate issue and we should not treat all the research activities similarly. In the following I will explain some of the considerations which will show how we should treat this issue more wisely.

Many scientific research have unclear results at the beginning of defining that project. Most of them are based on the assumptions and initial study of the some scientists who hope highly that their naïve guess and primitive investigations will result in fruitful consequence. In this regard, if governments take the advice of this statement too seriously all of the research should be put aside because their consequences has not been clarified yet.

However, the budget that government can allocate to scientific research are limited, and obviously they cannot fund all the research proposals, hence governments should prioritize scientific projects and fund the ones which have been defined more wisely and have been supported by some evidences, which increase the hope for their possible success in future. To reach this goal even an organization can be constructed which evaluate the research proposals that it receives and supports them financially based on their merits.

Although I have disagreed with the idea of the statement so far, I am aware of some scientific research which are totally based on the raw guess of some scientists and they hardly may find success. In these cases the government should ignore them or at most help them to find some interested investors to support these projects personally. For example consider the efforts which has been done in the chain theory in Physics, which aims to prove the universe actually has eleven dimensions instead of three. Firstly all of the efforts in this field has been failed, secondly it is not clear even if this theory is true how human may benefit from it. From its beginning, this project wastes lots of the money of governments and also the time of the scientists, however governments could stop funding it sooner and asked the involved scientists to find other investors.

In conclusion, many of scientific research do not have a clear consequence at the beginning of their introduction to the scientific community, so the government should not refuse to fund them with the excuse of ambiguous consequences. However regarding the limited budget of the government it can prioritize and choose the ones which are more likely to succeed and for the rest devise a mean to introduce these projects to the interested investors.