Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Arts, in its general meaning is one of the major branches of a culture of a nation, the collection of beliefs, products and attitudes that link the people of a country to their history and origin. Culture also is a means that a country can use to introduce its honor and success to other nations and cultures. In this regard, refusing to fund cultural activities which certainly art is one of its major parts would harm the whole society. What would be a country without anything to be proud of? Many artistic work remain after centuries and in fact they are the most important factor that can represent a nation through history.

Furthermore artistic activities like painting, making films and performing theatre can also motivate people to help each other and reduce the problems of poor people. For example a painting that depicts the miserable condition of a family can stimulate other individuals to help poor families in terms of financial aides or finding jobs for them. As another example there are many concerts or shows which their financial profit are expend in ameliorating the conditions of poor people. Some years ago an earthquake happened in my country that killed hundreds of people. For helping the survived people and returning their hope back numerous festivals and concerts were held on those region which really had useful effects.

It is true that, in poor countries the indigent people also matter. Government should not appropriate abundant amount of money to every activities which claim it is an aspect of art. Governments should prioritize and give financial aids only to those activities that have more profound results and also the ones which are in danger of extinction. Besides many artistic activities have the ability to earn money themselves. They do not need the help of governments at all, even they can be used to gather money for poor and jobless people.

Another way which governments can apply to support both poor people and art, is to encourage these people to make artistic products and then help them to sell their products. In this way governments without expending any money realize both purposes.

In conclusion, as art is one major part of the culture of a country, nations should not stop funding artistic activities, however considering the condition of poor and jobless people these artistic activities can be directed in a way which benefit poor people.