Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is important to know or have an idea about the past as it can help one take important decisions today. It is knowledge on the past that helps one move forward at faster pace than otherwise would have. One cannot downpaly the importance of knowing the past to make crucial decisions.

One can learn a lot from what had happened in the past. By knowing the past, one can easily gauge what works and what do not. It is this knowledge on the past that can make a person evolve into a better person. There is a witty quote that says, "Learn from others' mistakes as one lifetime won't be sufficient to learn from ones own mistakes". Having a knowledge about the past not only helps in making important decisions but also saves the precisious time. For example, a scientist who is just getting started with career can have a fruitful start only if had knowledge about what didn't work and what worked in the past. If the scientist didn't know what had happened in the past, the scientist would waste the same amount of time or even worse, more time than it had already taken in the past only to know that something doesn't work. It is this knowledge on the past that is taking the human civilization forward by leaps and bounds.

This is not just limited to the scientists or researchers. For example, let us consider the case of a big tech company. It would be very adventageous for the whole company if the spearheads of the company have knowledge of things that worked or didn't work in the past. In this rapidly evolving technological world, one needs keep abreast of technological failures and successes that took place in the past. For a innovative technology company, where time is one of the most important aspects of the company's success, it would be very indiscriminate for a person to start working on a new idea without considering how things worked about a similar idea in the past only to find out that there is nothing new about the idea or this idea would completely fail incurrng huge costs to the company.

Knowing the past can sometimes have negative effect in making important decisions. Knowing that a particular thing didn't work or did work in the past can shape our today's decision. Thus, it may very well be the case that one can assume that it would happenly similary in the present times while the unexpected happens. This can be due to the difference in the miliue prevailing in the past and the present. For example, a tea kiosk is setup in a market during the summer where tea is not preffered the summer. The vendor might infer that people in the locality do not drink tea at all give the idea altogether. But, what if people prefer tea in the winter. The vendor is at loss because he wrongly infered from the past experience that tea wouldn't sell even in the winter.

Thus, we can see that having a knowledge on the past can greatly influence in making important decisions today. At the same time, there can be a few cases where knowing the past can have adverse effects on the decisions that one can take today.