Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Ordinary people stand up and take responsibilities in dire situations, or in times of need. Someone out of the ordinary charges forward and takes the command in his or hands and when demands are placed on them, they become a leader. This is suggested in the prompt and I strongly agree with the statement. This statement can be fortified with a couple of examples.

Leaders are a direct response to the need of improvement around them. In times of distress, some people rise to drive themselves and the people around them out of misery, no matter who they are. This is what a leader is. For example, during the second world war, when the people of Germany were agitated, poor and generally not in a good state, an infamous leader in the form of Adolf Hitler rose to prominence. Demands on him were that he avenged Germany's defeat in the first war and prove to the world that they were not weak. Through the course of history, there have been uncountable such leaders who fought for their country's fame such as Sir Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi etc. Perhaps, this might be one of the strongest demands that can be placed on a person who inevitably leads his or her entire nation.

In addition, there could be another less innocuous demand that causes a man or woman to raise as a leader. Demands like driving a company out of bankruptcy, or increasing the revenue of a company. In a startup, for instance, during it's inception, there is not a 'prominent' figure. It's founders are together taking the crucial decisions. But at a later stage, when needs arise for a leader, then it is generally seen that one of the founders take over the decision making process thus leading the company to arguably better future. Not everyone can be a leader and this is elucidated when demands to perform better arises.

One would argue that despite there not being any strong demands, every country and company has a head. It can be easily refuted by taking clues from our history. History has shown that whenever there is a strong demand from the public, the leader of the nation has been changed. Whenever there is a challenge to revive a dying company, a new head is chosen. And this process repeats until the new leader is in fact a leader in every sense of the word, not some nominal head functioning merely for a period of stagnation. Thus, in my opinion, demands do create leaders.