Learning is primarily a matter of personal discipline; students cannot be motivated by school or college alone.

I totally agree with the statement. I think that without personal incentives to improve himself, a student can't learn the context taught in class well no matter how the school motivates him.

First, in order to learn well, students need to focus to what teachers say. Since people are easily distracted by other interesting things, if they don't really want to take the course, they won't pay enough attention to it. For example, many students in colleges have smart phones now. With it, people can do various things, such as playing games, watching videos and sending messages to their friends. Since professors in Taiwan usually don't interfere with what students do in class, those who don't have enough motivation would feel that it is more interesting to focus on their phones than to listen to the teachers, resulting in that those students don't learn anything after class.

Second, many professors in Taiwan only mention the main ideas and leave the details for students to understand because they don't have enough time to teach all of them. Therefore, if students want to learn well, they have to search for additional materials on their own. However, students won't do that if they are not interested in the course. For example, students major in computer science need to take a course named data structures and algorithms, which focus on several tools for people to write programs efficiently. Because there are too many different kinds of things to mention, teachers would only teach the most vintage ones which are sometimes the methods used in the past. Therefore, it requires students to search on the Internet and find out the newest ones.

Yet, someone would argue that if the schools offer enough motivations for students, they would be willing to learn. However, most of the colleges in Taiwan give money to students who get the best scores and use it as an incentive to encourage them to study. But the problem is that most of the grading system depends on tests, the result is that students would focus on how to perform better in tests such as memorizing the answers without understanding the reasons. Thus, the scores they get don't imply how much they understand the subjects.

To conclude, I think that students need motivation from themselves to learn well. Even if the schools and colleges offer various incentives for them, the key point is their willingness.