The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

The main purpose of history is to examine the past times and learn from the events that took place.Most of the people often feel studying history as waste of efforts as it serves no purpose in current situation.The statement asserts that the benefit of history is to erase the difference in lifestyle of current generation from earlier times.In my opinion,the assertion made by statement is true to some extent but that main benefit of history is as specified above to learn from past mistakes.I would like to substantiate my view in following ways.

history deemed as one of crucial subject is included in every academic curriculum for primary and high school children.While students doesn't have have a liking for it as a subject as it was boring and often felt irrelevnt for them.But the educational system failed in inculcating the main goal of history as a subject and its advantages.Histoy had mostly been occupied by wars,rebellions,reolutions or colonial rules.So most of part of it was obviously different from today's lifestyle which is the fact that everyone is aware of.But the core concept is to know the reasons what led to those circumstances and not to repeat them again.In brief manner,it provides a way for people to learn from their mistakes and develop sense of maturity.

Moreover,the assumption inherent to the statement that termed difference in lives of people in earlier times to current generation as illusion is definitely not acceptable.history provides a clear picture of how the social and economic conditions prevailed and affected the lives of people.For instance,if we take a deep dive into more specific events,gender discrimination is one of substantial part of history.The lives of women before were under control of men and faced severe oppression.To the contrary,today women are truly empowered and made progress in all aspects of life.This small example clearly depicts the distinction of lifestyles between earlier and present times.

Even with all this being said,it is not appropriate to discord the fact that living conditions are same and hardly subjected to any changes in some contexts.Consider caste system in india that still prevails to date.castes has been dividing people and discriminating people before india got Independence from colonial rule of Britain.In fact,the British found it easy to rule india with help of caste system.And peoples still todsy give high priority to castes in marriages and also to provide some social priviliges.Additionally,caste system led to resrvation system in india where it favours only a particular community of people to attain jobs easily than others.This is what history failed in preaching effectively.

To conclude,the history is mainly representation of our past to make sure we remember the lessons and never to disappear the truth.