"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above given argument asserts that athletic competitions like youth-league sports should be discontinued for children below nine years of age in Parkville.He went on supporting his claim by refering to a study where youth-league soocer players in several major cities are interviewed have reported more psychological pressure from coaches and parents to win competition.However,the argument has some inherent flaws that need to be logically analysed before making the given conclusion.

Firslty,it is given that more than 40,000 players who are children of age below age 9 years suffered injuries in youth league sports but there is no statisitcs provided on the total number participated in the competition.Furthermore,the youth league soccer players who are part of the study reported high psychological pressure are from several major cities depicts the logical flaw that the author assumed similar conditions in Parkville.Moreover,it is also not known whether the people who were interviewed as part of study are of same age group or not which again casts doubt on the study.

Second,the author completely ignored the possiblity of negligence from authorities who conducted the youth league games responsible for providing all necessary facilities,arrangements and precautions to be taken as it is a major event.This could have substantial impact on paticipants as they could be in large numbers and any minor mistake could result in large number of injuries.Therefore,this helps in making the conclusion even weaker and author's argument as baseless.

Moreover,it is concluded in the argument that the organised competitions should be discontinued only for children of age below nine years raises another doubt.It clearly depicts the correlation between age of the participants and competition which is logically absurd.It could be same with any other player with any age above nine years.So, author completely gone out of the logical track in making that recomendation.

To conclude,the argument failed to provide good evidence for the conclusion it provides as the provided information or facts to support the argument are not strong enough to provide base for that conclusion.