"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies — Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, tat building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument suggests that the construction company zeta is better than alpha and so recommends zeta firm for new building construction.this claim is supported by providing information that regional headquarters constructed by zeta firm has lower maintenance than alpha one even though the construction cost is on higher side.also,it is provided that staff of zeta is more stable with less employee turnover than alpha.The data provided in the argument is limited in the context of corroborating the conclusion made by the author and need to be examined by profound approach.

Firstly,it is given in the argument that there is comparison of buildings built by zeta and alpha which were built 10 years ago.The author makes use of this comparison and makes decision in selecting the firm for construction of new building.it is very much possible that situation 10 years ago can be different from today.also,there is no information on the regions where the buildings are constructed.it might turn out that building constructed by zeta is situated in a region where the maintenance is easy because of the weather conditions or any other factors which could not be the case with building built by alpha.also,usually the maintenance charges include the charges for labor and materials used.Furthermore,it ultimately depends upon the people who utilise the building.If the building constructed by alpha is not well taken care of such that it had resulted in high maintenance costs.

Moreover,the author indicated the stability of staff in zeta and considered it as a better choice.this is because that it has less employee turnover than alpha.this could actually be weakening the author's stance as less employee turn over could also mean there is less scope for new talent in the firm.Same people with same ideas could not get success all the time. this indicates that there is less chance for new employees to be inducted into the staff who could also bring new innovative ideas.

Next,the author also mentioned about the power consumption of the buildings where the building of alpha is on higher side than zeta. there is no information provided regarding stats of power consumption monthly or yearly by both buildings.also it could be possible that the fare of electriciy may be higher in the region where building of alpha is situated.

To conclude,this argument seems to make valid recommendation at initial glance but careful analysis of the reasons provided by the author doesnot provide enought support which need to be examined as in the above provided discussion.