An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia — the scent of lavender flowers — has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

The above given argument asserts that lavender scented pillows can cure isomnia within short period of time.In order to support the claim,a study is presented in the argument which was carried out on 30 volunteers suffering from chronic insomnia for 3 weeks in a controlled room that are monitored.However,the evidence to support the conclusion is hasn't served it's purpose as it is deprived of some important clues that need to be discussed deeply.

Firstly,there is no information regarding the body or any authority who conducted the study as the various process and methods used in study are absent as well.A study cannot be simply believed as it needs a good validation from a established authorised bodies.also it was not mentioned about any other details of the volunteers as a certain treatment would work for a people of specific age group and could be found useless for others.If in case,most of the volunteers part of study are of similar age,the result of study cannot be accurate.

Second,the study has been carried out over 3 weeks and volunteers were on medications and also using lavender scented pillows but still they appear tired.Further into second week,medication was stopped and volunteers felt slightly better and consequesntly all of them having a more sound sleep in third week gives no correlation between scented pillows and insomnia.Even though scented pillows are used every week,the sleep only got better when medication is stopped suggests that problem is more correlated with medication and other factors.

Furthermore,it is provided int the argument that study is done under controlled rooms which may not be the case with volunteers everyday.The sleeping conditions can have drastic impact on amount of number of hours they sleep.providing comfortable facilities and peaceful environment may also have done the job in curing insomnia.

Moreover,it is mentioned in the argument that scented pillow is a traditional method for curing insomnia.

This raises serious doubts regarding how effective can a ancient treatment be on millenials.Today's lifestyle is complete constrast to ancient lifestyle.The occupations,facilities,relations altogether can have substantial impact on sleep cycle.

To conclude,the argument presents a conclusion but lacks in providing sound evidence corroborating with the argument.The above questions need to be answered in order to validate the conclusion.