The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

There is a well-known memo in Bible that says like this: “There are no new things under sun”, which claims that no matter how circumstances, time or anything else change, what we see or what we act are all had happened before. And people who study history also often make the same announcement: “People living now are not significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.” As far as I am concerned, I am completely disagree with this view, and I have substantial reasons to bolster my point.

At first, obviously, there are so many significant advances had happened in material world. No matter how obstinate, banal or talented, you cannot deny human has discovered or invented so many vital and astonishing achievements which are totally strange for those people who lived in 2000 years ago. Take, for example, those digital devices which has grown entwined with our modern life. People cannot imagine how hard our daily life would become if they are separated from those high-tech devices. And this is the main difference which lays on between modern human life and history human life.

Additionally, along with those great developments around human living, ourselves also changed dramatically. Which includes how we think and deal with some basic thoughts and problems. Actually, we have to admit that it is those mind changes has shaped civilized human society. For example, slavery has been existed for a long time in human`s history and people take it granted and lawful in those days. But normal sense and history books have taught us that it is shameful for human to have those dark days. It is exactly history told us that we are living a totally different era compared to those days which keeping slaves is lawful.

In conclusion, I hold a disparate view when it comes to that people living now are not significantly different from people who lived in earlier times. Especially for those ones who study history. I think it should be a common sense for historians to agree with the contrary view. Which is that our society and living standards have changed dramatically compared to old days and we should cherish those changes and take a lesson from history to make more grand changes.