Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

No matter how obstinate, banal or talented , people cannot deny the paramount effect and profound ramification of scientific researches in human`s long history. Sometimes, the consequences of those scientific researches may be unclear when scientist start to do their project, and I totally disagree with the idea that governments should not fund those scientific researches just because they cannot provide lucid consequences of their ongoing study.

As a matter of fact, there are so many great discoveries in science history was made by coincidence and did not have a pre-designed purpose or clear predictable consequence before they eventually generated the astonishing outcomes. In practice, it is also very difficult for researchers to predict every subtle consequence of every kind of scientific researches.

Take, for example, the discovery of the law of gravity which was made by Newton in 18 century.

Can we ask Newton to predict a detailed consequence-which, in this case, is the law of gravity-about his research before he sat down under that famous apple tree? Obviously we cannot. It will be extremely detrimental to science advance if governments or any other funders only care about the possible uncertain consequence of each research because there are various random situations and uncertainties in real scientific research and development

In addition, it will pose a negative leverage on innovation and creative thinking which is the main source of science discovery if governments stop funding scientific research whose consequences are unclear. Innovation and creative thinking have grown entwined with modern scientific research and technology advance and played an irreplaceable role in so many impressive inventions and discoveries. But it will eliminate this important spirit from scientific research if governments focus more on determined consequences of research because some inspired innovations cannot be predicted until they finally hit you. Should governments forgo this kind of creative research or innovation just because they cannot give a clear consequence? The answer is negative.

scientific researches are playing an increasingly significant role in this era of technology and knowledge and governments are always the main supporter and funder of today`s scientific research. So governments should be careful and realistic about their funding policy. And as matter of this issue, I maintain that it will be awful if governments do not fund those scientific researches whose consequences are unclear.