Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

There is no doubt that education plays a vital role in modern society, after all, no matter how genius, banal or talented, people cannot gain any exceptional achievement without being educated. As Confucius once said:” A jade stone cannot be a masterpiece without incision”. And as the one who executes education process, we should attach as much importance as we can to teacher and serve a great welfare to them and keep a decent salary to them. But there is an argument that teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance which I was totally disagree with. I have substantial reasons to bolster my position. A few of them include:

A main flaw that this argument displays is that a person`s achievement cannot only be judged by academic performance. People are now living in a diverse era, and academic performance only accounts a few parts of human achievement. Take, for example, those famous athletes who win many awards, champions in different competitions. They are symbols of grand human spirits: try you best to be faster, higher and stronger. As a matter of fact, we have to admit that most of those glorious athletes do not perform very well in academic field, and can we blame this for their teachers and low down those poor teachers` salary? Obviously not!

Additionally, every student has their own preferred education approach, which is hard for teacher to satisfy everyone `s requirement. As Aesop once said: ” You please everyone, you please none”. The duty of every teacher is doing their best to teach knowledge. But like anyone else, every teacher has their own way about dressing, eating and most important, teaching. It is impossible to set a rigid regulation for every teacher and force them to follow those rules. It is irrefutable that Confucius was a unrivalled teacher who taught 3,000 students in total, and as a matter of fact, there are only 72 students who accomplished significant achievement in history. Based on this, could we classify Confucius as a bad teacher and low down his salary? We all know it`s absurd. Therefore, the argument presented here is ridiculous, too.

All in all, a student or a person`s achievement could not only be measured by his academic performance, and hence, a teacher`s ability cannot just be gauged by his/her students' academic performance. There are so many ways to promote teacher`s motivation about teaching and improving their teach capability. Among those, linking teacher`s salary to their students' academic performance is the worst one.