The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As the old saying ‘History always repeats itself’, I generally agree that the benefit of history study is to point out the similar patterns between the past and present, so that people can learn from the past and avoid the same mistakes again. However, it is equally important to note that with technological disruptions, certain fields do differ from the past, so we should learn but not limit ourselves from history.

To begin with, it is never rare to see revolutions from the past to nowadays, which indicates people still live under unequal and violent conditions as before, no matter how much self-claimed improvement we have achieved. Revolutions illustrate the eternal quality of human beings to seek for better lives and we do experience and memorize the importance of protecting people from discriminations in light of the slave history in the US or other western countries, as well as the dictatorship in North Korea and China. Therefore, by studying history, we are constantly reminded of the bloody wars that are against the well being of the mass, and learn the duty to keep them from happening since they will not disappear due to human’s similarity in fighting for resources and power.

Furthermore, just like what is mentioned above, lots of human behaviors and characters, such as fighting for power and dominance, don’t really evolve along with the time, so it is meaningful and imperative to learn from history and avoid the same mistakes. In other words, because we believe that history reveals the core of a society which lasts over decades, learning from history becomes possible and effective. For example, Taiwan has done brilliant jobs in controlling the outbreak of Coronavirus due to the lesson learnt from the SARS in 2017. It perfectly shows that by assuming that the past and the future share certain similarities, we do learn from the mistakes before and become better in the future.

History does teach us numerous lessons, however, several aspects of the society do change in response to the technological disruptions. Nowadays, we are super connected with the whole world thanks to the development of infotech, which leads to both positive and negative outcomes. For instance, social network apps, such as facebook and instagram are common but definitely not mentioned from history. Therefore, it is premature to assume everything is the same compared to the long past history. What’s more important is to cultivate the ability to identify what should be remembered and learnt from history, while what else should be open to innovation.

In conclusion, it is always beneficial to learn from history, but at the same time, we should keep in mind that the world is able to advance better even if the topic is not recorded from history.