The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mozart School claims themselves as the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child for music learning for several reasons. However, each reason should be further examined before confirming the statement to be true.

First, there is no audition for children who are about to enroll which means the class is open to any level of the students. On one hand, it assumes that every student is welcomed if they are interested in learning music. On the other hand, it actually can create problem for mixing different levels of students in learning music together. For example, we are often to be classified into certain grade in formal education which enables the teaching quality can be well controlled and benefit the similar level of students. However, if there is no audition, it is problematic to distinguish different levels of students and actually may further decrease the teaching quality.

Second, the school mentions that they offer wide ranges of classes which provide diverse opportunities for students to learn. However, the potential negative side of this diversity is that the students may become overwhelmed with the choices and also may not be able to specialized in any type of the music. Therefore, many opportunities without further instruction to guide students to locate what type of instruments they want to master may decrease the learning outcome.

Third, though it is said that there are prestigious musicians among the faculties, it is unclear how many of the courses will be taught by these distinguished musicians. It is not uncommon some schools hire famous musicians but they only appear occasionally and not the prime teacher to lead the class. Hence, unless there is more details of the arrangement of the real practice relating to the famous musicians, it is difficult to say how much benefit can the students get from these professional faculties.

Last, it mentions that many graduates become professional musicians afterwards. However, it is questionable how many portion dedicated to the musicians' success comes from the education of the Mozart School. Those successful musicians may do participate in the Mozart School before, but there are lots of other factors will contribute to their success as well. Thus, it is premature to claim causation between professional musicians with the classes of Mozart School. Therefore, famous musicians doesn't guarantee the effectiveness of the class in Mozart School.

In conclusion, for the four aspects mentioned from the website, there are potential negative effects that are neglected based on insufficient assumptions, such as the poor class quality due to mix of different levels of students, as well as the confusion and lack of focus since there are too many class options without further instructions. Another problem is that, premature causation is made too quickly and draw to wrong conclusion. For example, though there are some professional faculties, it is unclear whether do they participate in daily teaching or not, so the quality is not assured. Also, famous musicians doesn't guarantee the success of the class etc.